What is Your Love Language?

by Bogie

The Five Love Languages are a concept developed by marriage counselor Gary Chapman. It is based on his anecdotal research from thirty years of doing marriage counseling.

couple expressing love on a sunset

The five love languages are:

1. Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Furthermore, hearing the words “I love you,” are important. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.

2. Acts of Service

Whatever you do for someone can be an expression of love? Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Finding ways to serve speaks volumes to the recipient of these acts.

3. Receiving Gifts

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism. This means, the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous – so would the absence of everyday gestures.

4. Quality Time

In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Quality Time also means sharing quality conversation and quality activities.

5. Physical Touch

This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Moreover, hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face – they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love.

Why is it important?

Knowing your love language will enable you to connect with your loved one with intimacy and fulfillment. Added to that, it will give you the opportunity to effectively communicate your emotional needs as well as meeting the emotional needs of your partner and your children.

My Love Language

My love language is WORDS OF AFFIRMATION. This means, unsolicited compliments mean the world to me. I find this true for myself because I always believe that words have power. Kind, encouraging, positive words are truly life-changing.

 “Kind words are like honey, sweet to the soul and healthy for the body.” – Proverbs 16:24

Know Your Love Language

So what is your love language? Take the 5 Love Languages Profile. I suggest you take it with your partner. Answer it separately and then come together and discuss your test results. This will help you learn how to meet the emotional need of your partner by knowing her love language. Last night, I have learned that my husband’s love language is ACTS OF SERVICE and since then I have decided to do anything for him and offer help in case he needs it.

If you don’t have a partner, do not worry. You can take the 5 Love Languages Profile for Singles. There’s even for teens and children too.

Day 11 of the 30 Day-Blogging Challenge done!

You may also like

Leave a Comment